World Languages

Department Chairperson:  Lauren Reisner
Email: LaReisner@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 Ext: 2615

Co: Nicole Diamente
Email: NiDiamente@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 Ext: 2536

Program

The study of a world language is an extremely important part of a high school education.  It provides a point of entry into ways of thinking and living different from those which the student already knows. It also develops communication skills which will be useful in whatever career the student may choose to pursue.  Student placement at the high school will be made in consideration of achievement and recommendation from the school the student previously attended, and students are encouraged to continue the study of their chosen language through their four years at Greeley.  Student placement may be re-evaluated, if needed.  Students also are encouraged to consider starting a second world language at some time during their high school career to give added strength to their program as well as to broaden their knowledge base.

World Languages Staff

ESL

Harrison, Helen
Heharrison@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2143

French

Calhoun (Uguen), Benedicte
BeCalhoun@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2639

Day, Michael
MiDay@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2532

Sitruk, Vania
VaSitruk@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2665

Latin

Darling (McCaw), Samantha
SaDarling@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7202 x3543

Diamente, Nicole
NiDiamente@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2536

Mandarin (Chinese)

Kuo, Jennifer
 jekuo@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2662 

Li, Ping (Polly)
PiLi@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2577

Spanish

Ayala, Jacqueline
japallant@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2508

Curtis, Donna
DoCurtis@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2531

Irizarry, Isabel
IsIrizarry@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201

McKenney, Steve
StMcKenney@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2596

Pallant, Jacqueline
JaPallant@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2508

Pretill, Naicy
NaPretill@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2508

Reisner, Lauren
LaReisner@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2615

Sarris, James
JaSarris@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2621

Sitruk, Vania
VaSitruk@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2665

Warren, Steven
StWarren@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2644

 

Sequences

Please see the Decisions book to see the full diagram for World Language sequences