Science

Department Chairperson: Pat Donovan
(914) 238 7201 x2369
PaDonovan@ccsd.ws

Co-Chairperson: MaryRose Joseph
MaJoseph@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2563

Program

Science offerings at Greeley are intended to satisfy a wide range of interests and abilities.  The science department strongly encourages students to take 4 years of science.  Students are required to take a one credit course in 3 out of the 5 course categories offered.  The department encourages students to take at least one course in 4 out of the 5 categories of courses.

Science Staff

Berardi, Jennifer
JeBerardi@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2512

Bianchi, Paul
PaBianchi@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2514

DeBellis, Mike
MiDeBellis@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201

DeMarie, Ernest
ErDeMarie@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2534

DiGuglielmo, Carol
CaDiguglielmo@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2538

Donovan, Patricia
PaDonovan@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2540
  
Gessler, Trudy
TrGessler@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2547

Joseph, MaryRose
MaJoseph@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2563

Kuczma, Kevin
KeKuczma@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2572

Ma, Priya
PrMa@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2551

McCarthy, Jennifer
JeMcCarthy@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2591

Moore, Susan
SuMoore@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2604

Nowak, Mark
MaNowak@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201

Prignano, John
JoPrignano@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2613

Provenzano, Christina
ChProvenzano@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2509

Rubeo, Gabriella
GaRubeo@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2549

Russo, Angela
AnRusso@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2616

Stagno, Alice
Typist (Science, Performing Arts and Social Studies)
AlStagno@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2632

Towle, Jessica
JeTowle@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201

Science Research Program

These courses are open to students who have demonstrated outstanding ability and interest in science. They are taken in addition to the normal science sequences.

6064 INTRODUCTION TO SCIENCE RESEARCH (1 credit)
This highly selective program is offered to motivated sophomores possessing keen interest in science. Application for admission is made mid-way through the freshman year.  Students will learn a number of basic skills required to conduct science research.  Students will pursue a topic of interest, and focus on that topic during the first year.  The topics covered in the course include literary search techniques, oral and written presentation skills, problem-solving and experimental design.  Students will be prepared to pursue independent research should they choose to continue in the advanced science research program.  This course is optional and is taken in addition to the core science course in which students are enrolled.  Prerequisites:  3.5 in a freshman science course; 3.0 in English; 3.0 in Math Enriched Algebra, Enriched Geometry or Math 10 Honors.  Students will be required to submit an application which includes several essays.  Applications are available online on Greeley’s website.  Enrollment is limited to 15 students per section.

6070 SCIENCE RESEARCH  (1 credit)
(Prerequisites:  Introduction to Science Research, a summer assignment) This course is intended for students who have completed the Introduction to Science Research course.  It offers them the opportunity to work on an independent research project.  Students are encouraged to work with mentors from the scientific community and are supervised by Greeley faculty.  The intent is to prepare the students to design and implement an authentic scientific research project.  Scheduled group (three classes a cycle) and individual meetings (during the school day but outside of class time) are required.  Presentation of research will be required in poster format at the Horace Greeley High School Science Research Symposium in the spring. Students are required to work a minimum of three hours outside of scheduled class per week.

6075 ADVANCED SCIENCE RESEARCH (1 credit)
(Prerequisite:  Science Research.  Students must complete all data collection prior to enrollment.)  Students in this course have the opportunity to complete their research.  Students are required to submit their research papers and posters to local, regional, statewide and national competitions.  Attendance at these competitions (JSHS and WESEF) is mandatory.  A speaker presentation at the Horace Greeley High School Science Research Symposium in the spring is expected as well. Scheduled group (three classes a cycle) and individual meetings (during the school day but outside of class time) are required.  Students are required to work a minimum of three hours a week outside of class, with mentors and/or faculty advisors to complete their research and to prepare their project for presentation.

Course Offerings by Category

Science Course Offerings

 

Earth Science

Biology

Chemistry

Physics

Applied Sciences

Regents Earth Science

Regents Living Environment

Regents Chemistry A

Physics

AP Environmental Science

SUPA Earth Systems

AP Biology

Chemistry B

AP Physics 1

AP Psychology

   

AP Chemistry

AP Physics C

SUPA Forensics

       

Technology and Design Integration - Maker Space

       

Introduction to Engineering and Design (0.5 cr)