Physical Education

OFFICE: 914-238-7201 x2610 

Department Chairperson: Donna Versace
doversace@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2641

Physical Education

Program

We welcome you to our world of fitness and sports.  Our goals are to help students become lifetime learners in the areas of physical fitness, and sports skills.  We want them to take away the knowledge and concepts associated with fitness and activities.  We not only want to target physical health but emotional and mental health as well.  We offer a variety of classes that you may choose to help you become motivated and to help you experience different activities. 

Our classes consists of:

  • 9th Grade PE
  • Games Class
  • Individual and Team Sports
  • Yoga, Core and More
  • Fitness Concepts
  • Walking and Meditation
  • Backyard Games
  • Lifetime Skills

Physical Education Staff

Chemerov, Jennifer
jechemerov@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2526

Cleary, Michael (Leave replacement for Bob Herodes)
micleary@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2526

Herodes, Robert
roherodes@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2556

Kearns, Joe
jokearns@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2526

Marino, Anthony
anmarino@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2587

Marino, Rachel
ramarino@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2469

McLees, Steven
StMcLees@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201

Nicodemo, Felix
fenicodemo@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 Ext: 2579

Versace, Donna
doversace@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 Ext: 2641

Health Education

Program

This is a course which addresses health issues relevant to the lives of teenagers.  In each topic, students are encouraged to explore what they know, what they believe, and what they do (knowledge, attitudes and behaviors).  Recent theories, information and research will be addressed. Course topics include:  decision making, risk reduction, mental health, relationships, domestic violence and child abuse, stress management, depression, suicide, eating disorders, alcohol, tobacco & other drugs, HIV/AIDS and human sexuality.  This course fulfills the New York State health education requirement for graduation.

(1/2 credit) (Open to grades 10, 11 and 12)

Health Staff

McGurl, Kristin
KrMcGurl@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2553

Cleary, Michael
micleary@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2526