English

Department Chairperson: Jacqueline Abair
(914) 238 7201 x2501
JaAbair@ccsd.ws

Co-Chairperson: Valentin, Daniel
DaValentin@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2507

For the quickest response, please use email and provide your phone or email information for correspondence.



Program

The English curriculum encourages students to refine their thinking skills through the study of language, composition, literature, and media. Students read both classic and contemporary literature, discuss literary works in relation to their meanings, form, style, and structure, and develop a growing vocabulary of critical terms. In addition, students are required to write in a variety of forms and styles, both analytic and creative, and to become more sensitive to the logical development of ideas and the manipulation of language. The English program also allows for the critical examination of various media, the development of speaking and listening skills, and the acquisition of vocabulary and strategies for proper English usage. All students must take four years of English and must, under the NYS Standards, pass them in order to receive a high school diploma.

English Staff

Abair, Jacqueline
JaAbair@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 Ext: 2501

Burger, Amy
AmBurger@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201

Brunow, Valerie
VaBrunow@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201

DePeralta, Tiffany
TiDePeralta@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 Ext: 2505

Ebstein, Rebecca
ReEbstein@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2525
   
Keener, Kristie
KrKeener@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 Ext: 2545

Kushnir, Anna
AnKushnir@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2542

Lugo, Melissa
MeLugo@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2585

Lunnie, Susan
SuLunnie@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2525

Mitchell, Alison
AlMitchel@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201

Morelli, Jacqueline
JaMorelli@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 Ext: 2605

Petruso, Brian
BrPetruso@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 Ext: 2609

Rubin, Deirdre
DiRubin@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201

Serrano, Heidi
HeSerrano@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 Ext: 2627

Smythe, Catherine
CaSmythe@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 Ext: 2631

Valentin, Daniel
DaValentin@ccsd.ws
(914) 238-7201 x2507

Upper Level Course Offerings

ENGLISH 17-18 ELECTIVE COURSES OFFERED BY ENGLISH DEPARTMENT

 

Fall 2017

Spring 2018

Fall 2018

Spring 2019

Advanced Placement English

Advanced Placement English

Advanced Placement English

Advanced Placement English

American Wilderness

Beyond Boundaries

American Protest: Declarations of Independence

American Dream,

American Nightmare

American Wilderness

Beyond Boundaries

Modern World Literature

British Literature

Ancient Greek Literature

World of Shakespeare

Ethics and Existence

Psychology in Literature

Ethics and Existence

Psychology in Literature

Humanities I

Humanities II

Humanities I

Humanities II

Forces of Myth in Literature

Film Study

Forces of Myth in Literature

Film Study

Literary Journalism

Creative Writing

Literary Journalism

Creative Writing

Creative Writing

Senior English Seminar

Creative Writing

Senior English Seminar

Writing and Communications

Writing and Communications

Writing and Communications

Writing and Communications

       

*Offerings subject to change