Class of 2019 lauded for academic achievements

Cum Laude Society

At a ceremony on October 23, 2018,  129 seniors were inducted into the Cum Laude Society, which is an academic recognition program determined by a specific GPA. Students must be enrolled at Greeley for four or more complete semesters to be eligible, and all students with a transcript of all 4.0 marks were also awarded the distinction of Valedictory honors.

Under the direction of Kathleen Feldman, music was performed by the Greeley Chamber Ensemble, and Spanish teacher Steven McKenney delivered this year's Faculty Keynote Address as part of the induction ceremony.

Mr. McKenney began by commending the students for their hard work, persistence, and desire to learn. He then spoke about the college application process and how it is easier for teachers to write a recommendation letter for those students who just get it -- and for Mr. McKenney, "it" refers to students who work well with others, who are helpful in a genuine way, who have the ability to make group/team members feel valued, and who earn respect from adults and peers in an effortless fashion.

On the topic of communication, Mr. McKenney encouraged students to "never stop refining their ability to communicate in person" by sharing an anecdote of his nephew who was tired of working with colleagues who only knew know to communicate with devices, and were borderline inept when it came to communicating in face-to-face situations. 

During his closing remarks, Mr. McKenney left those in attendance with this piece of advice: "Wherever life takes you -- be passionate about what you do. Live your life and do what you want, not necessarily what others might expect or want you to do."

       Valeditory Honorees
^ Magna Cum Laude
 * Summa Cum Laude

Eunice Agaba^
Marisa Alkalay^
Edwin Allen*
Harris Allen*
Isabella Arrese*
Thomas Barjak*
Olivia Barlow*
Jacob Berwin*
Julia Bialek*
Brooke Bisceglia*
Henry Blair^
Sarah Bogner^
Benjamin Cannon^
Alison Chen^
Joseph Chung^
Hannah Cohen*
Sami Contractor*
Liam Curtis^
Massimiliano de Sa*
Lauren Dinhofer^
Samantha Dinhofer
Katherine Du^
Nicolas Eichenberger*
Zachary Eichenberger
Elizabeth Evanko*
Jason Fine^
Ava Foster*
Charles Frieder*
William Frieder
Noah Fritzhand*
Brianna Gadaleta
Bradley Gainsburg*
Madeline Gaudet^

Safia Gecaj*
Bryce Gell^
Luca Giardina^
Michael Grapel^
Alan Gu*
Anna Guber
Sheng Guo^
Lucy Hafitz
Samuel Hamroff^
Sarah Harris*
Alan He^
Landon Highbloom
Nathan Huang*
Nathalie Jamavan*
Anabelle Johnston*
Koti Kalapatapu
Andrew Kassin*
Bennett Katz
Jacob Kaufman-Shalett*
Tyler Keller*
Zachary Kessler
Divya Kishore*
Kevin Klein^
Caitlyn Kockler*
Piper Krase^
Alexa Krugel*
Sarah Kugelmas^
Chirag Kumar*
Stephanie Lauder*
Hyun Jin Lee*
Aidan Leitch^
Charlotte Lerner*
Catherine Li*

Jacob Linden*
Kevin Liu*
Matthew Lohrs*
Sydney Ludl^
Thomas Macchetto
Spencer McGowan
Andrew McMillan*
Amber Mildenhall^
Amelia Monica
Elizabeth Mortati*
Joshua Moskow
Tyler Munowitz^
Sophie Nadel*
Madelyn Negroni^
Henry Nick*
Abby Rose Notarnicola^
Aaron Notis
Niamh O'Connor*
Sophia Pao*
Samantha Phillips
Sarah Platkin*
Nathan Platt
Mari Pliskow
Isha Puri*
Rebecca Putnam*
William Putnam^
Ryan Renzulli
Zachary Reynolds*
Jack Rifkin*
Jacob Rose^
Brett Rosenberg^
Hannah Rosenberg*
Madeline Rosenberg*

Olivia Ruggiero
Daniel Sakharuk^
Heather Samberg*
Sara Schlatner*
Katherine Schmitt
Moira Semel*
Matthew Shenkman*
Lukas Shriver^
William Silberstein
Claire Silverman
Emma Silverman*
Aditi Singh*
Dylan Snow^
Joshua Spiro*
Daniel Stein
Kathryn Stelwagon*
Kathleen Sternkopf^
Andrew Sun^
Kenta Togo*
Robert Tunick*
Arul Walther
Rhiannon Whyte^
Max Wilson^
Julia Woolf
Mac Yavner^
Anna Zhang*
Linda Zhang*
Aron Zhao*
Catherine Zhu*
Jordan Ziegler*

National Merit Scholarship Program

On September 28, 2028, it was announced that 25 Greeley seniors were recognized by the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program (by taking the 2017 PSAT/NMSQT) as a Commended Student on the basis of a nationally applied Selection Index score. They were among the 34,000 commended students throughout the nation being acknowledged for their exceptional academic promise. Congratulations to the following HGHS students:

Edwin Allen
Harris Allen
Nicolas Eichenberger
Zachary Eichenberger
Elizabeth Evanko
Samuel Hamroff
Jacob Kaufman-Shalett
Chirag Kumar
Hyun Jin Lee
Charlotte Lerner
Sydney Ludl
Niamh O'Connor
Sarah Platkin

William Putnam
Jacob Rose
Olivia Ruggiero
Daniel Sakharuk
Daniel Shih
Emma Silverman
Joshua Spiro
Kathryn Stelwagon
Andrew Sun
Michael Thorsberg
Aaron Wolk
Linda Zhang

On September 12, 2018, it was announced that 17 Greeley students were among the 16,000 high school seniors nationwide to be named a Semifinalist in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Competition. (Finalists will be announced in February.)

They received this distinction by scoring among the top 5% of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2019 scholarship program by taking the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Congratulations to the following HGHS students:

Group shot of 16 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists.

Massimiliano de Sa
Ava Foster
Alan Gu
Nathan Huang
Anabelle Johnston
Sabrina Kaplan
Kevin Liu
Matthew Lohrs
Sophie Nadel

Isha Puri
Ryan Renzulli
Aditi Singh
Kathleen Sternkopf
Kenta Togo
Anna Zhang
Aron Zhao
Catherine Zhu